Trip Report: South Fork Campground to Mt. Whitney

“From the very beginning I knew I’d be hiking into a weather system. I was supposed to leave for my starting point at South Fork Campground on Tuesday May 12th, but I ended up holding off  until Friday in hopes of bypassing some of the larger storm systems which were scheduled to hit the Sierra.

My Mom drove me the hour and a half to the beginning of Sierra Mapping Project’s first leg at South Fork Campground roughly 45 mins outside of Visalia, CA. Every pothole and bump in the dirt road was felt as her white Camry tried it’s best to avoid major divots. We arrived at a the same spot I’d rung in the New Year with. A fitting location to begin the first of many new trips.

My mom and I got out of the car, took a short walk down to the river, packed up the rest of my belongings and then said our goodbyes. Without hesitation my mother insisted one last time… “Are you sure there’s no one that can go with you? What about that girl hiking the Theodore Salomons Trail? I just wished you would be going with other people.” With difficulty I tried to refrain from telling her for the umpteenth time that most all of my miles have been logged solo. I would love to have others out with me, but it’s easier said than done. My mom and I embraced for one last hug before she took my photo and I began the first stretch of trail to be GPS’d for Sierra Mapping Project. “

Click on the link to read the full article!

http://www.sierramappingproject.org/blog/2015/5/29/south-fork-campground-mt-whitney-trip-report

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip Report: South Fork Campground to Mt. Whitney

  1. We have the same moms….. 🙂

  2. Jan Schaper says:

    Wishing you a sacred journey.

Thoughts

