Catching Up on the CDT – Lordsburg to Grants

I’m happy to report that I’m no longer on the first week stuck in New Mexico.  A ton has happened on this trail and I’m happy to say that I’m now MUCH further north, in Wyoming. I’ll be updating over the next few days in hopes of catching up to current time.

*****

Since I last posted I was reporting of severe shin pain. I ended up walking another day out of Lordsburg, NM (24 trail miles) and the final stretch that evening did me in. My leg was in excruciating pain and I decided to take some time off and let it heal. I followed the boys up the trail with Sleeping Bare in the RV for 8 days. I was constantly icing and elevating my shin. I went and got KT Tape and a calf sleeve to try and relieve some of the pain.

20140513_151625[1]

Waiting to hop back on trail with the boys

I got back on trail a few miles away from Reserve, NM on May 15th. When I joined back up with the boys we had a couple new hikers with us. Anna (Pruner), Chimichanga, Sailor, Pasta Alfredo, Friendly Neighbor, Opa, Chuck, and my very favorite… Tripod – a dog whom had followed Ipod to the road.

20140515_103216[1]

Anna in the back, Chim, and Tripod (with his prize elk leg)

Our next town stop was Pie Town, NM. Ipod, Nugio, Chim, Tripod, and myself all set off down the trail together. I got out in front in, however, I thought I was following Chimi and Tripod because I would randomly see dog prints and the ever famous Cascadia shoe print which so often litters  long trails. Turns out I was following different footprints and a random coyote.

I ended up hiking that section by myself because I had gotten so far ahead of the boys. When I arrived in Pie Town at Nita’s Toaster House I was greeted by a parade of hikers. It was wonderful being in their company. It wasn’t more than a few hours before the rest of my party arrived. Tripod, our three legged dog, was beat! He immediately found a spot on the ground between the hikers and feel asleep. He was a trooper!

20140516_164757[1]

Left to right – ?, Friendly, El Jefe, Myla, Opa, Chuck, Sailor, Pasta Alfredo, and myself (BloodBank)

My shin was still giving me problems, but it was nothing I couldn’t handle. Nugio, Ipod, Anna, myself and Chimi took a zero at the Toaster House and had a wonderful time.

There was a dance later that evening at the community center. When we arrived the party was dead. We were told that since all the old cowboys can’t dance anymore it’s a sad scene. It was the perfect opportunity for thru-hikers to liven up the party. Needless to say Chim, Nuge, and myself got everyone on their feet dancing within a couple minuets. We had a blast!

The next town stop was Grants, NM. Nuge, Ipod, Chim, and I were headed North again. We had some beautiful desert hiking. Fully equipped with epic sunsets and endless views.

wpid-20140518_200442.jpg

Desert Sunsets

My shin gave me problems for the first couple days, but then everything subsided on the 3rd day. Happy shin, happy hiker! HOORAY!

20140513_152951[1]

Happy Hiker

The 4 of us hiked onward to “El Malpaise!” It was an absolutely stunning section filled with lava rocks galore. It was a major pain to walk on the glassy uneven surface, but the scenery and company made everything worthwhile

wpid-20140519_200125.jpg

Chim, Ipod, and Nuge

While road walking a section we decided to head into town for lunch then hitch back onto the trail. It was a WONDERFUL idea. We passed a bunch of other CDT hikers and waved at them from the back of the pick-up truck. Now this is hiking done right!

wpid-20140519_133338.jpg

Ipod and Chim on our hitch into Grants for Subway and ice cold drinks. We were in and out within 2 hours. We continued hiking with full bellies and high spirits

The four of us finished that section with a nice long road walk into Grants, NM. My feet were absolutely killing me from the rough pounding of the hard pavement. The monotonous action was taking a toll on all of us and we were thrilled to finally be in town. Even though we were in town we still had a few miles to the hotel. Hitching wasn’t working, so we went into Pizza Hut and ordered a pizza to be delivered to a local hotel… with us being delivered there as well. Our driver was great and the 4 of us arrived via Pizza Delivery to the front door. Major success!

wpid-20140519_173106.jpg

Chim, Ipod, and Nuge on the road walk into Grants, NM

Onwards North to Cuba, NM!

6 thoughts on “Catching Up on the CDT – Lordsburg to Grants

  1. Ooo I love a long hike! Great post, and great photos. I hear you about walking on roads, ew it sucks! Did you have to worry about bears and bobcats on that trip? And btw is ‘Opa’ the Dutch Opa, as in grandad?

    • That’s a good question about Opa. I’m not sure. I never got the chance to ask him about the origins of his trail name. Yes… road walking is brutal on the joints! We were in Grizz territory for about 1,000 miles (in total) of the hike. All the “scary” animals were out there, but I’ve never had any issue with any creatures- big or small. If you respect them, they respect you.

Thoughts

