Day 4 and 5 “zombie death march” 👣

When we got to hwy 113 the previous night, Sleeping Bare brought us back to the RV so we’d have a great breakfast before hitting the trail around 730 the following morning. 

I awoke to the sweet smell of fresh roasted coffee and Nug handing me a warm mug. I took a deep breath and inhaled the instant alarm clock in a cup.   A couple minuets later I was being served golden pancakes with over easy eggs.  This is certainly a great way to wake up!  It wasn’t long before Nugio, iPod,  and myself were loaded up and back on the trail again 

Full of delicious food and caffeine the boys and I began our desert death march… 20 miles till our next water cache. 

My shirt is giving me an extra special rash. Being super sensitive to things is not fun! When I’m soaked with sweat I don’t notice the pain,  but when I take off my pack for a break my skin dries out again and my scabs crack. Thus creating a VERY vicious cycle.  Every time I put back on my pack I can feel my skin tearing apart.  Ironically,  this is by far the easier pain to deal with.

image

Oh the joys of backpacking 😂

My right shin is the worst of my ailments today.  It’s in awful pain!  If this is shin splints, it’s coming on incredibly fast and with a vengeance.  I’ve had shin splints before, but this doesn’t make sense because I’ve been training like crazy. Before I got on trail I was pulling 36 and 34 mile days with ease.  I’m really confused,  but I’m staying positive.  Send happy,  healthy,  healing thoughts! : )

The 3 of us finally found shade under the only tree for 6 miles and took a BEAUTIFUL siesta. It’s super hot out today. We’ll take any opportunity to get out of the blazing sun.

The land is completely barren and vast. You can see in every direction for miles.  There’s absolutely nothing to obstruct your view. 

image

The hiking got a little better,  scenery wise, at about mile 11. We got out of the fierce little ankle bitter plants. They have one mission: to leave your legs as scabbed and bloody as possible. 

image

This pretty little guy cut the bejesus out of my leg. 

image

The desert… where everything’s dead.

image

Nugio and ipod at our bone dry water source goofing off.

image

Our next cow infested water source.

image

Found this beautiful (Mojave Green?) Rattlesnake because I almost stepped on him.  He sure was pretty!

Nugio and I saw 8 antelope running/frolicking in front of us. This moment was too good to capture with a camera. After that I was beaming ear to ear. I love the little things that the trail provides. 

By the end of the day my leg was barking at me. I’ve only got 7 miles to go before I’ve completed the first stretch to Lordsburg, NM. I love this trail!  It feels so great to be home! 

******** Day 5

The three of us woke up early and did the final 7 miles into Lordsburg KOA. It was a flat and relatively boring road walk into town. My right shin is still very unhappy.  I’ve been using my trekking poles like crutches.

image

On our way into town we passed a cemetery,  an animal shelter, and a veterans park.  You see so many neat places when you walk everywhere.  I found some gords growing on the side of the road and sent the picture to @digsapparel to support #amelonaday. 

image

An awesome movement Michael McWilliams started to bring awareness to TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury). He’s an incredible individual.  If you’ve got a melon picture send it his way to help support TBI awareness through art.  😎

I’m going to rest,  ice, and elevate my leg nonstop for the remainder of the day.  For now it’s showers, laundry, food, and sleep.

Hitting the trail tomorrow.  I hear we’ll see trees by the end of the day! Yippie!

3 thoughts on “Day 4 and 5 “zombie death march” 👣

Thoughts

