An Excerpt From My Upcoming Book

All Material Is Copyrighted! Do not copy or duplicate without written permission from (myself) the author: Sara Fry

“I stop and let the wind dance along side me. It nestles up against my check trying to comfort me; for it knows. It’s getting colder. I don’t do very well in the cold.  It’s time to open another hand warmer. I place them under my arms and hat. Hopefully this will help with the shaking.

I love it out here. This has become my home. Despite all my ailments I am still able to admire all the rugged beauty. I am at peace despite the war raging inside me.

The beautiful thing about the mind is it’s ability to overcome. I am no stranger to pain. I have been living in it every second of every day for years. Something special happens when you are able to look past this physical aspect. Pain no longer has any power over you. You are still aware, but you are able to receive it and move on.

My mind wants to stay out here forever. My mind is healthy; I just wish the rest of me would follow suit. I take each step deliberately. The ground beneath me crunches, for it has now frozen over. Millions of crystals blanket the hard dirt. The ice breaks apart under the weight of my body. It feels like a sign. I am willing myself forward; just as I have since Sierra City. I am strong and I am capable. I have clearly proven this.

Just a couple more days and I’ll be in Canada. I know I will make it. Canada is calling and for the first time it is clearly within my reach. I no longer have any doubts that I will be able to finish. If I have come this far.. what’s a couple more days?

As I lay down to sleep I am happy. I am with my traveling family. Hardly any of them know the battles I have been fighting. I pride myself in my ability to mask pains. I try my hardest to retain my goofy and lighthearted personality. I shock myself at how well I have done. My only wish is that I were able to share these last days with the person who brought COURAGE to the forefront of my life. Aside from that, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Right before I drift off, a thought sneaks into my head… I know what my final entry in the register will read. Now I just have to get there.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Excerpt From My Upcoming Book

  1. Sounds great Bloodbank! Can’t wait to read more.

  2. Nice! Looking forward to reading more!

Thoughts

