Age: Just a Number

I feel the need to discuss the issues I have w age.

When I was 15 I got TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury). I was basically robbed of that “adolescent” stage. I had to grow up fast. I had to learn to be my own advocate. I had to learn to speak w doctors and be taken seriously. I had to be an “adult.”

My life stopped revolving around the meaningless things teenagers are so set on and became focused on REAL life. My perspective changed. The things that matter came to the forefront of my life. The experiences I have and the relationships I form are what mold me; not the possessions I own or my social standing.

Image

PCT: Heading into the High Sierras

Over the years I have continued to grow. I stopped thinking about what people thought. We are INDIVIDUALS for a reason. We were created to be different. Everyone has so much to offer this world. It’s time people realized that. It’s time people found themselves.

Image

PCT: Burn area in Central Oregon

Age is just another form of discrimination. Age doesn’t mean anything other than a number. Some of the “oldest souls” are our youth. I have experienced more in these short years than many people get to witness in their lifespan.

I have been turned down for many opportunities before because our society holds numbers in such high esteem. And many times I have been more qualified than my aged counterparts.

In some instances our “number” truly does depict our behavior and understanding. However, on the contrary, I have met many people who are “wise beyond their years” or quite the opposite “30 going on 13.”

Image

It’s still important to be goofy and lighthearted… no matter what AGE

I challenge you to look to others as your equals. To not judge based on age, race, religion, etc. All of these markers are merely things that set us apart and create a rift. They make us feel alone. They elicit a fear in us. This is an illusion we were taught to follow by the media society we were raised on. Take a step back.

We were taught to keep our thoughts private. To have a “personal life.” All of these things only bring us further out of touch w humanity. If we share our experiences w one another our bonds will strengthen.  There are so many people that have gone through the same things we have/are going through. If we share our knowledge and insight we can help brighten someones way. Wouldn’t it have been nice if someone knew what you were going through? Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to share your feelings and thoughts w someone that understood? I challenge you to help others. Extend your hand and let someone know they’re not isolated.

Some of the greatest things I’ve learned have been from children; and the wisest, from our seniors. We are all people. We are all the same. Listen and learn. There is so much waiting to be discovered. Don’t let age fool you. Open up and you’ll be glad you did.

Image

PCT: Mount Rainier National Park

Sara

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts

