Lucky in LIFE

Life is what we make of it. We have a choice. We can either sit back and dwell on what brings us down, or we can chose to see the beauty in things. We have the opportunity to take unrelenting situations and make the best of them. We have a gift. We were born to overcome. We were born to live… really live OUR lives.

Smile

My Signature

I am no stranger to setbacks. When I was 15 I got Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). When I was 19 I got Melanoma (Skin Caner). When I was 21 I decided to live my life – my way. I want to explore the world. I want to see it first hand. I want to live. We are not guaranteed anything in this life. Why do we let opportunities pass us by? We only have one shot. Let’s make the most out of it.

This is my site about living. This is my way of sharing w the world that we are capable. No matter what set backs we have. No matter what health issues stand in our way. If we want something bad enough we have the power to make it happen.

I know what it’s like living in pain every single day. I know what it’s like being told you can never live your life in the same manner you would have before. I know what it’s like knowing you don’t have very much time. What THEY didn’t know, was that I wasn’t going to let any of this hold me back. It only created a stronger desire to get out and live my life my way.

The first thing on my bucket list was to thru-hike the Pacific Crest Trail: A long distance (2,655 Miles) backpacking trail stretching from Mexico to Canada. It goes through 3 states (CA, OR, and WA) 7 National Parks, and 25 National Forests.

I set out on April 20th, 2012 from the Mexican Border. On October 12, 2012 (175 days later) I walked into Canada.

The first thing on my bucket list complete.

30992_624821625337_1359850549_n

ipod, Navi, Lucy (the dog) Myself, and Kristo

This is my one shot at life. Where do I go next? What experiences await me? I want to encourage each and everyone of you to take a look at YOUR lives. What makes you happy? Really, truly, happy? Follow your heart.

Money isn’t everything. Possessions don’t mean a thing. The happiest I’ve ever been in my  life was when I had only the things on my back. It’s the experiences that matter. The memories we share. It’s the human connection. It’s living, and my question for you is…

Are you living?

14 thoughts on “Lucky in LIFE

  1. Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours these days.

    I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    • Chester,

      Thank you very much! Yes… there will be more. I’ll post today. I’m publishing my book right now so I have to be careful about the material I include on my blog. But yes, there is definitely more to come. Thank you for your support!

      Sara

  2. Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous
    roommate! He continually kept preaching about this.
    I most certainly will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Good day I am so happy I found your webpage, I really
    found you by error, while I was searching on Digg
    for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would
    just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post
    and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

    • Lucio,

      Thank you very much! I’m surprised at the outpour of approval I’ve gotten. I had no idea people would be reading this at the magnitude that they are. I’ll keep posting : ) I love all the feedback!

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sara

  4. Yes, that is the question isn’t it. What do you desire if money is no object?
    I was just enjoying today how beautiful it is to walk in the woods in the rain and make dinner with my daughter and lay on the window seat and meditate. All these things for no reason other than that I love my life.
    Hiking the PCT is one of those things to do just because I want to.

Thoughts

